Blog Details

Timberland Mountain Marathon: First Leg of the Championship Series

Posted at June 27, 2022

On June 19, 2022, the Timberland Mountain Marathon was successfully held with over 200 participants. This event is the first race in the National Trail Running Championship Series 2022-2023.

Watch the video here.

Jeffrey Zonio from Montalban, Rizal, and POSF Developmental Team Member, took the championship for the male 42km category, while Ruffa Sorongon was the first female finisher in the 42km category. Meanwhile, Larry Apolinario from Antique, Elias Tabac from Davao, Andrico Mahilum from Manila, and Elmer Retolado from Montalban took the 2nd to 5th spots respectively for the males. For the females,  it was Trisha Reyes, Aggy Smith-Marte, Ces Wael, and Silamie Gutang who completed the 42km podium finishers.

T8 Athlete Kristian Joergensen took home the championship in the male 21k category, while previous two-time SEA Games Gold Medalist Christabel Martes won in the distaff side. 


The short distance category was packed with young athletes, some returning trail-running veterans, and a lot of first-timers in trail running. 

Seventeen-year-old athletes Sam Bango from Baguio and Romeo Requiron from Aklan took first and second place for the male 12k category, while 2019 SEA Games Silver Medalist Glorien Merisco took the top spot for the female.  


It was an exciting event as we saw these athletes race it out on the trails. Here are the finish times of the top five male and female finishers for all the categories. 


Samuel Bango - 1:03:04

Romeo Josh Requiron - 1:03:22

Gabb Rosario - 1:04:00

Cielo Lando Peñaflor - 1:06:00

March Mcquinn Aleonar - 1:07:00


Glorien Merisco - 1:23:00

May Costob - 1:25:00

Louella Patricia Carpio - 1:26:00

Kristia Gamilla - 1:27:00

Catherine Chico - 1:30:00


Kristian Jørgensen - 1:57:30

Randolf Gonzales - 2:05:00.00

Mervin guarte - 2:13:00.00

Kindu Caberte - 2:28:00.00

Richard Akol - 2:30:00


Christabel Martes - 2:38:00.00

Sherlyn Fugaban - 2:48:00.00

Angelie Cabalo - 2:48:01.00

Melissa Campos - 2:54:00.00

Icar Hiponia - 3:36:00.00


Jayson Zonio - 4:51:25

Larry Apolinario - 4:57:00

Elias Tabac - 5:12:47.00

Andrico Mahilum - 5:17:04

Elmer Retolado - 5:18:39


Ruffa Sorongon - 6:32:22

Trisha Reyes - 6:39:38

Aggy Smith-Marte - 6:51:17

Cecille Wael - 7:04:03

Silamie Apolistar-Gutang - 7:42:00

All the podium finishers were awarded gift certificates from T8 Run gear and apparel and gift certificates from the Race Ya Shop. At the same time, the top finishers were also given cash prizes.

To view the full race results, click here.

The race took all the participants through the trails inside Timberland Heights. The 21km and 42km participants completed the course along the Sierra Madre mountain trails around San Mateo and Montalban in Rizal. Lush forest trails, high-altitude running, rolling terrains, splendid mountain views, unlimited challenges from the trails, and the weather took the grit out of each participant.

The event is co-presented with the Pilipinas Obstacle Sports Federation, a National Sports Association recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Olympic Committee. Timberland Heights was the event venue partner while Race Ya was the digital platform for the event.

Furthermore, this event was supported by Pocari as the official sports drink, SIP as the official hydration partner, and Fitbar as the official snack partner.


The National Trail Running Championship Series will be held in Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.  The series is composed of high-quality mountain races with distances of 42k and shorter distances of 21 and/or 10K. The event provides championship and ranking points to the participants, eventually identifying the National Team Members.

This event will also facilitate setting Philtra Trail Running Standards in events across the Philippines.